I'm a Foodie

Fettuccine Alfredo with Cajun Style Shrimp

wp-1485804227634.jpg

So, last night I made my homemade fettuccini alfredo (a MAJOR hit at my house) for my family and some friends. Since I have had multiple people ask me for the recipe, I decided I would share it here. I don’t measurements very well, I eyeball pretty well everything so bare with me.

For the sauce, you want to start out with some extra virgin olive oil and minced garlic in the bottom of the pan. On medium to medium-low heat, let cook for a few minutes just to get the flavor out of the garlic.

Then I melt:

1 block cream cheese

1 stick of unsalted real butter

About 1/4 cup bacon grease

A dash garlic powder (make sure you don’t use garlic salt!)

Once everything is melted, use a whisk to combine all of the ingredients well until the butter is completely mixed with the melted cream cheese.

Next add:

Two small pints of heavy whipping cream, or one large carton and stir until combined with the cream cheese mixture (this should only take a few seconds of whisking)

About 1/2 cup to 1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese

Whisk together just so the cheese is incorporated throughout the sauce then let cook, stirring regularly for about ten to fifteen minutes or until the cheese is melted and the sauce is the right consistency.

You can add some fresh parsley to the sauce also to give it a little color.

wp-image-343150954jpg.jpg

For the shrimp:

I just use frozen shrimp and thaw it out by setting the bag in a bowl of warm water. Once they are thawed, I pull off the tails and place them in a bowl.

In the pan on medium heat I combine:

A good spoonful of minced garlic (can you tell I love garlic?!)

A light drizzle of olive oil

Half a stick of butter

Whole squeezed lemon

Seasonings (again, sorry I just eyeball these!):

Slap yo mamma cajun seasoning

Devils dust seasoning (You can find this online or at Gourmet Eureka in Eureka Springs, AR)

Pinch of tabasco

Salt and black pepper

Once all ingredients are combined:

Add about a 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream

Simmer until shrimp is cooked through. This will make a spicy cajun sauce which you can spoon over regular alfredo sauce or you can combine everything in one pot. The kiddos in my household are not a fan of spicy anything, so I usually keep the two separate. Reduce to low heat to keep warm.

Spoon alfredo sauce over fettuccini noodles. Add shrimp, cajun sauce and Parm as desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.