From My Journal..

Only a Picture

Sitting here I’m frozen in your warm, steady glance, 

For eyes so tender and sweet they hold me here in a sinister trance,

I never thought it possible that I’d ever see you again, 

Left with only a memory and what could have been, 

 

Caught in this moment my body sits stagnant here, 

Taking in the memory of a time I hold so dear, 

I would give anything to sit like this for as long as I live, 

I’m tired of wondering what I could have changed, I have nothing left to give, 

 

I let out a sigh as I get to my feet, 

An obvious sign of another defeat, 

I walk to the light switch and look up at the bulb, shaky in the fixture, 

As I remind myself, it was only a picture.  

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.